Cooperative Learning: Sink or Swim

Now that I have been placed in a secondary school for my professional experience and I have had a brief discussion with my mentor teacher, I can focus on expanding my PCK in the specific HPE subjects and unit topics.

One website which has some great resources and blogs is the PEPRN website which has been developed by Dr Ashley Casey who is a University Lecturer in HPE Pedagogy. I have found numerous articles of interest that will assist me in my HPE teaching career, and I am going to mention one article in particular called Sink or Swim which is about using Cooperative Learning to structure your classroom and value more than just physical learning. This pedagogical model that places equal emphasis on academic and social learning promotes learning in multiple domains and allows the students to have positive interdependence, individual accountability, promote face to face interaction, use interpersonal and small group skills and group processing. These five key elements of Cooperative Learning will be used in a specific context during my professional experience to teach skill acquisition to Year 10 Human Movements students.

 

Resources

Casey, Dr A. (2015). PEPRN. Lecturer in Pedagogy. Louchborough University. Retrieved on 2 October 2016 from http://www.peprn.com/2015/11/participation-that-doesnt-cost-the-earth.aspx

Casey, Dr A. (2016). Sink or Swim. PEPRN. Lecturer in Pedagogy. Louchborough University. Retrieved on 2 October 2016 from http://www.peprn.com/2015/10/sink-or-swim-together.aspx

Leave a Reply

