Australian Curriculum Copyright Laws

Since I have been learning about copyright laws I have become more aware of what I can and can’t use or reuse without recognising the original owner correctly, asking for permission, or just not being allowed to reproduce it at all. It is crazy to think now of ALL the ‘things’ I would have used from the internet that I have done so illegally! I originally wanted to reproduce an image from google that I was allowed to use without permission. I found it hard to find one, so I decided to see what the Australian Curriculum copyright laws were out of interest. I have summarised my findings below…

The Australian Curriculum operates a creative commons licence held under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY) licence (Creative Commons licence). The copyright material published on the website is subject to the Copyright Act 1968 (Cth) and is owned by ACARA or, where indicated, by a party other than ACARA. This licence allows you to share (copy and redistribute the material in any medium or format) and adapt (remix, transform and build upon the material) for any purpose, even commercially, provided you attribute ACARA as the source of the copyright material.

The Australian Curriculum website actually states that is supports and encourages broad use of its material!!!! I guess that its main purpose is to guide and assist teachers in their preparation and delivery of quality lessons. As my initial reason for accessing the Australian Curriculum website was to use one of it’s images as a learning path activity, I then stumbled across the section call “Material not available under a Creative Commons Licence”. Hmmm, I thought I’d better read this section too…and discovered the following;

The Creative Commons licence does not apply to:

  • any logos, including the ACARA logo, the Australian Curriculum logo, the Australian Government logo and the Education Services Australia Limited logo;
  • other trade mark protected material; and
  • the design of this website.

This material must not be used for any purpose in addition to material owned by third parties that has been reproduced with their permission. Permission will need to be obtained from third parties to re-use their material, hence in the end I have not supplied an image as I am still yet to find one I can re-post without breaking the law!

References

The Australian Curriculum v8.2. (2016). Australiancurriculum.edu.au. Retrieved 1 August 2016, fromhttp://www.australiancurriculum.edu.au

 

Leave a Reply

