RAT Model

Jacqui’s recent blog called “Week 4 Already…” resonated with me as I am feeling the exact same. I am keen and eager to learn more about ICT and Pedagogy BUT I have two young children who have also been sick and am finding it hard to get the hours of study done required to be successful in this subject and my career.

However, life goes on and so must we!

After working through the RAT model book, I have tried to focus on the two major questions asked to reflect apon being…

  1. What has been changed throughout the use of ICT and pedagogy? and
  2. How has it been changed?

Using the RAT model, I am hoping to answer these questions by identifying replacement, amplification and transformation to my lesson plan. Now I need to find an appropriate lesson plan to do this with. After looking through the large list of websites available for these resources, I feel that I might use a lesson plan I have previously developed as it might be best suited to what I am looking for to finish Assignment 1.

I have found this article based on Hughes (2006) RAT model but adds its own touch and is worth a read. It gives slightly different explanation / insight on the different levels in the model. The article can be found accessing this link https://ict-design.org/tag/rat-model/

References

Hughes, J., Thomas, R., & Scharber, C. (2006). Assessing Technology Integration: The RAT – Replacement, Amplification, and Transformation – Framework. In C. Crawford, R. Carlsen, K. McFerrin, J. Price, R. Weber, & D. A. Willis (Eds.), Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education International Conference 2006 (pp. 1616-1620). Orlando, Florida: AACE. Retrieved from http://www.editlib.org/p/22293/

 

Leave a Reply

